Art Education programs

Photography

The study of Photography at Edinboro University begins with black & white photography and darkroom work and expands through instruction in photographic techniques, color photography, non-silver photography, and the use of medium, large, and digital format cameras. Both studio photography for commercial application and contemporary art directions in the photographic medium are explored. Many students develop an interest in the documentary/ journalism field. Classes center around individual critiques and group discussion of both technical processes and contemporary issues and ideas.

The History of Photography is offered by a member of the Art History faculty. The Photography area offers students the opportunity to participate in the Photo Club, which brings in visiting artists on a regular basis, and publishes Silvervision, a student juried magazine featuring student work. Advanced students may gain experience in laboratory management by working as lab assistants.

Internships at area studios and other photography businesses are strongly encouraged. Many graduates of the program work as free-lance photographers. Other graduates work in studios, labs, or hospital photography departments. Some work as newspaper/documentary photographers, and some enter the teaching profession after completing a graduate degree. Students seeking careers in photo-journalism or medical photography may want to consider pursuing minor journalism or biology. A number of students have combined photographic studies with course work in the Communications area to prepare for entry into the television/media fields.

Find us on Facebook!

Official EUP Photo Facebook
EUP Photo Club/Silvervision

Visiting Artists

Recent (2010-present)
Robert Hirsch, author, photo historian, Buffalo www.lightresearch.net/
John Pfahl, photographer, Buffalo www.johnpfahl.com
Ed Petrosky, photographer, Pittsburgh
Steven Rubin, documentary photographer, Penn State www.energygallery.com
Sharon Smith, bookmaker, North Dakota
Richard Kelly, photographer, president ASMP http://www.richardkelly.com/

Past Visiting Artists

Sandy Skoglund, photographer, New Jersey www.sandyskoglund.com
Edgar Heap of Birds, multi-media artist
Hulleah Tsinhnahjinnie, photographer www.hulleah.com
LaToya Ruby Frazier, photographer www.latoyarubyfrazier.com
Mary Virginia Swanson, photo marketing specialist www.mvswanson.com
Art Becker, photographer, Erie www.artbeckerphoto.com
Ed Bernik, photographer, Erie www.theforestpress.com
Adam Nehr, NASA photographer, Florida
Bell Hooks, writer Bell Hooks
Douglas Holleley, photographer, book artist, educator www.clarellen.com
Janet Campbell, newspaper photographer, Erie
Ken White, photographer, RIT www.rit.edu
Steve Diehl and Vici Zaremba, nature photographers, NYC www.rit.edu
Carla Anderson, documentary photographer, Detroit www.mocp.org
Gary Cardot, photographer, Erie www.garycardot.com
Errol Daniels, photographer, Buffalo www.errolphoto.com
Dianne Malley, photographer, artist, Philadelphia
Jennifer White, photographer, Erie www.jennifer-photography.com
Larry Gawel, photographer, educator, gallery director, Omaha
Brian Williams, gallery director, Philadelphia area
Lynn Johnson, documentary photographer, Pittsburgh www.lynnjohnsonphoto.com

Teaching Visiting Artists

Denise Keim (current) www.denisekeim.com/
Shauna Frischkorn www.shaunafrischkorn.com
Sarah Wichlacz www.sarahwichlacz.com
Heather Wetzel
Andrew Super
Ed Bernik
Art Becker www.artbeckerphoto.com